RSS icon Email icon Home icon
University of Illinois
  • Welcome

    Heartland Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop at Illinois
    Saturday September 29 – Sunday September 30

    Thanks to all the participants who made HERE@Illinois 2018 a success!

    NEW WEBSITE: The Heartland website is moving to It’s still under construction, but future updates will go there.

    Workshop Description:

    The Heartland Environmental and Resource Economics Workshop was held for the tenth year at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign on Saturday September 29 to Sunday September 30 in the Illini Union on the University of Illinois campus. Topics for contributed paper sessions were chosen based on the submissions we receive. The workshop (Saturday morning through Sunday afternoon) featured:

    • A luncheon with keynote speaker Matthew Harding (University of California at Irvine): “Small steps with Big Data: Using Machine Learning in Resource Economics”
    • A luncheon with panel discussion including Fiona Burlig (University of Chicago), Jacob LaRiviere (Microsoft Research), and Adam Storeygard (Tufts University): “Applications of Data Science Infrastructure and Methods to Environmental and Resource Economics”
    • Multiple sessions of contributed 20-minute paper presentations
    • One set of 10-minute short research presentations
    • Research posters displayed during a reception and breaks
    • Numerous breaks to share ideas and develop new collaborations

    The goals of HERE@Illinois are, as always, to stimulate research and build community in environmental economics with partial focus on the Midwest. The workshop will bring people together to exchange ideas and foster new collaborations.  Through selected paper sessions, it will identify pressing public policy issues and emerging research themes on environmental and resource economics. Finally, it will provide networking and development opportunities for graduate students and early career faculty in environmental and resource economics.

    2018 Organizing Committee: Professors Amy Ando, Kathy Baylis, Peter Christensen, Tatyana Deryugina, Don Fullerton, Ben Gramig, Madhu Khanna, and Erica Myers from the University of Illinois.

    2018 Sponsors: The Department of Agricultural and Consumer Economics, the College of ACES Office of Research, the Institute for Government and Public Affairs, and the Gutsgell Endowed Professor Fund at the University of Illinois.